suitable for agriculture is estimated at 22,618,000 acres. On Vancouver island an area of 2,110,054 acres is included in the Esquimalt and Nanaimo Ry. land grant, embracing the southeastern portion of the island, and applications for lands in this area are to be made to the land agent of that railway at Victoria.

Section 2.—National Defence

Before the outbreak of the war, the Canadian Militia consisted of a Permanent Force, which on Mar. 31, 1914, numbered 3,000 officers, non-commissioned officers and men, and an Active Militia, which at the same date numbered 5.615 officers and 68.991 non-commissioned officers and men. After the outbreak of the war on Aug. 4, 1914, successive contingents of troops of all arms were recruited, equipped. trained and despatched by the Canadian Government to Great Britain for active service. When hostilities ceased on Nov. 11, 1918, there had been sent overseas for active service in the Canadian Expeditionary Force about 418,000 officers, noncommissioned officers and men.1

Organization.—Prior to 1922, three Departments of the Canadian Government were concerned with the defence of Canada, viz.:—the Department of Militia and Defence; the Department of Marine and Naval Service; the Air Board.

During the session of 1922, the National Defence Act was passed, consolidating the Naval Service, the Air Board and the Department of Militia and Defence into the Department of National Defence. This Act became effective by proclamation on Jan. 1, 1923. Under it there is a Minister of National Defence and a Deputy Minister of National Defence. To advise the Minister, there has been constituted. by Order in Council, a Defence Council, consisting of:—a president (the Minister), a vice-president (the Deputy Minister), and the following members:—the Chief of the General Staff, the Chief of the Naval Staff, together with the Adjutant-General, the Quartermaster-General and the Director, Royal Canadian Air Force, as associate members. There is also a Secretary of the Council.

Subsection 1.—Military Forces.

The Militia of Canada is constituted by the Militia Act. The Active Militia is divided into the Permanent and the Non-Permanent Militia.

Permanent Militia.—The Permanent Force consists of the following units:—

Cavalry.—The Royal Canadian Dragoons; Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians).

Artillery.—The Royal Canadian Horse Artillery Brigade ("A", "B" and "C" Batteries); Royal Canadian Artillery (Nos. 1, 2, 4 and 5 Heavy Batteries and No. 3 Medium Battery).

Engineers.—Royal Canadian Engineers (3 detachments).

Signals.—The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals.

Iniantry.—The Royal Canadian Regiment; Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry; The Royal 22nd Regiment (a French-Canadian regiment).

Army Service Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Service Corps (12 detachments).

Medical Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps (12 detachments).

Veterinary Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Veterinary Corps (8 detachments).

Ordnance Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Pay Corps (12 detachments).

Military Clerks.—The Corps of Military Staff Clerks (12 detachments).

The strength of the Permanent Active Militia is limited by the Amending Act of 1919 to 10,000, but at present the limited establishment is less than 3,700.

For the detailed expenditures of the Canadian Government on account of war appropriations in the fiscal years 1915-1921, see the Canada Year Book, 1921, p. 798.